So what a great day, I forgot my lesson at home on the counter. However it all worked out because I use google docs which allowed me to pull up and print my lesson plan and information package out at the school. I highly recommend using google drive as a teacher and for your students.

Anyways my lesson went really well for having to teach while to about forty students. The grade sevens joined our class due to the grade six students going curling.  So since the school I am at has a 5/6 split and 6/7 split, this left the grade sevens to join. I was not prepared for them, so I taught to the grade five students. We continued our lesson on the Canadian Federal Government. We reviewed and then we looked at how to make poster for the information we found last wednesday. As a class we came up with some criteria that the poster will be assessed on. I found most students were engaged in what they wanted on the poster, however a few got hung up with the amount of words I allowed them to use. I really wanted them to learn that a poster should not be covered in sentences. That only a few many verbs are all that you need. Although it seemed to be a hard concept to get we came up with good criteria for the posters. These included: uniqueness/individuality, pictures, colour, neatness, word limit not included the title (I bended my criteria there). Although I will marking for the criteria, I’m also marking on “stuff” that the outcome does not cover.  So this is my question to you, do you think teacher’s should only mark on the outcome they are trying to reach with their student? or should a teacher mark to stuff like neatness and uniqueness?

Through this process I have learned a few things about myself as a teacher.  First I have a high tolerance for background noise in my classroom.  As a EA, I absolutely hated background noise when I was working with students in a classroom. But as teacher, I found that a little noise does not make me feel as nervous to stand in front of the class.  I have also learned that teachers have to be one step ahead of everyone else. For example, when I planning a lesson plan, I think of all the possible questions that I will be asked. The amount I come up with changes but I find that when I do this hit almost all the question that the kids come up with.  I have also learned that my past experiences with autism and other abilities have given me a head up for what to look for while I’m teaching.

