Today was an awesome day. I am truly starting to feel like teaching is my calling. The students were really excited to see my partner and I since we were not there last week due to Remembrance Day. In the morning, Miss Rilling and I participated in our students Physical Education class. We had a blast.

This was my week to teach a science lesson. My lesson was called (quite simply may I add) Silly Putty. Since the grade 5 saskatchewan curriculum discusses states of matter.  I led the lesson with questioning the students on what they already knew about the different states. Since my students are pretty smart they knew all the different states, however I did not change my plan that much because I figured that review is always a good thing.  I followed up my questions with a short video about the different states of matter https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wclY8F-UoTE . This video is a really good video at explaining the different states of matter but beware when showing this video that it may have a advertisement at the beginning. Although it did not when I viewed it at home, it did when I showed it. My coop had some very good advice for this. She said that she keeps the projector off until the advertisement are done. That way if it is something that is inappropriate, it is not shown.

After the video, we were finally able to complete our experiment. The children were really engaged and excited the whole entire time. One thing I would change for next time I teach this lesson is that I would have to groups pre-selected. I numbered the students off in class today, not thinking that would be a hard thing to do. But I didn’t count of almost every child “forgetting” their number when they were not put with their friends.  I would also write this different duties on the board or have it in my powerpoint so the kids not only have my telling them orally but they also have a visual of what they need to do.

Despite the few little things I would change, I had a great time teaching this lesson. I just want to mention that having the “problem” student help out during the demo really saved my lesson. Since I got him engaged right away he was not a problem, until after clean up.  I also closed my lesson with a Bill Nye video https://www.youtube.com/watchv=45YNZjYfHb4 . This got this students to settle down before the end of class and it also reviewed what they just learned in a fun way.

Once again I learned so much, one thing I learned is kids love hands on science experiments. This is were a pose a question to you, if you teach science do you use hands on engaging experiments to get your students excited or do you, for whatever reason, have your students just read the textbook and answer questions? If you do, I want to know why you do. Is it because supplies are expensive or not enough time in the year? This experiment was extremely fun to teach that I would not mind having my students in my classroom exploring science hands on.

 

 

 

 

 

