So I have found as a pre-service teacher I am looking for all the help I can get. So why am I always starting my unit plans from scratch? This is not baking, I need to teach my students and keep my sanity. I started looking online for help, my PLN on twitter help me to quick realize that there on unit plans on teacher pay teachers (which is an awesome resource), and other databases. These are all great, but I want to talk to you about the always forgotten model unit plans that are right in the saskatchewan curriculum.

Now I haven’t had much of a chance to go through all the saskatchewan middle years curriculums but I have gone through the grade 8 ELA curriculum and the model units are there under core/ additional resources and they are awesome! (a great starting point anyway).

In the grade 8 ELA curriculum these model units are thematic and flow in a logical way. They have extra resources and give pointers on how to teach the unit. The only thing they are lacking is the critical literacy part. This is a big deal, since we need our students to be critical thinkers. However, I was able to add in different critical literacy strategies with no problem.

So next time your in a panic that you need to make a unit, remember the curriculum isn’t just what we have to teach, but it also gives us the resources that we need to be able to teach.

